• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Brand new SA20 Turkey Thug fails to cycle

After reading several threads here about various cycling problems ,I was all set to send the gun back to Mossberg for fixing . But before I even put a shell in the gun ,I added the Choate 8 shot extender.
After getting it all back together , to my dismay ...... it wont manually cycle any shell I put in it .
I have zero experience with a semi-auto shotgun so not sure what is what .
I can tell you loading the mag takes a really lot of force to get the shell to go in -hurts my thumb pretty bad and seems like it takes WAY to much power to push them in .
Then when I try to manually cycle low brass, high brass , slugs, 3" shells,etc. , none of them even get close to getting in the barrel .
My biggest problem is that now after I ground off that lip to put on the mag. tube extension I suspect Mossberg will say I voided my guarantee by modifying the gun .
It's my own stupid fault for not testing the guns cycling ability right out of the box - but I naively assumed a brand new gun would function properly . What would you do ?

I do not have the Turkey Thug. Bobster does, hopefully he will chime in too.
I assume the actions are the same and just the barrels and the cosmetics are different.
First of all, get some 20 ga snap caps. do not test the cycling with live ammo unless you don't mind an accidental discharge.
Secondly I would assume you can still put the stock parts back in even with the lip ground out and try that to see if it's better.
Before any testing, does anything look broken, very loose or missing?