• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Cleaning the SA-20 For First Time

KaylenZ

Copper BB
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to guns and I recently decided to purchase the SA-20 for home defense. I'd like to clean the gunk (cosmoline?) in the gun before I go to a range and try it out.

I'd like to get 200 or so rounds through it, and then clean it while at the range.

I have no idea how to clean this thing. I'm assuming it's a lot more involved than putting a rag down the barrel.

I'm really worried about putting the gun back together after separating a few of the pieces to get to the parts that need cleaning and oiling.

If you one of you fine Mossberg owners would lend a kind hand and make a video on cleaning THIS particular model, I would very much appreciate it.

I'd particularly be interested in how to pull the various parts so that when it's time to put the gun back together, I won't have ruined the gun.

Any recommendations on cleaning kits, solutions, and tools would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance to anyone that can post a video!

Kaylen :D

Hello Kaylen Welcome to the forum from NY and congrats on you new Mossy. You get a chance post a pic or two. :)

I've been searching around and I can't come up with a video showing the dismantle and cleaning of the SA-20.,,,,,,,but still working on it.

I did notice in the owners manual they do explain cleaning the gun.

edit: I also found this,,,,,
viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1001

Hi Old Mossy,

Thanks for the reply. I've searched the entire web it seems. I've looked at any and all videos in regards to the SA-20 and other semi auto shotguns.