• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

930 JM Pro trigger.

Fumbles

.22LR
Hi folks.... I've been a fairly serious rifle and handgun shooter for over 35yrs..... however.........I'm brand new to shotgun. How sad is that? Why, I don't know. I've always wanted one, but here I'm only getting around to it some 35 years later. I picked up a Mossberg 930 JM Pro, fitted the OR3GUN Competition Combo kit (which is nice stuff) and I am generally enjoying the heck out of shooting it. At some point I will do the loading port mods, lifter weld up, beveling etc. I can't not fiddle with shite. I am considering trying 3 Gun out to see if I like it.

I'm just wondering though. What do 930 JM Pro owners think about the OEM trigger? I've read so much stuff regarding various mods the competition crowd does to these shotguns, this and that, but don't believe I have ever read anything about any trigger mods or even what shooters think of the stock Mossberg triggers.

Is the JM Pro trigger considered good to go out the gate? Do competition shooters modify them.....polish the sears, swap out springs etc etc? I read something someone posted about using a 10/22 hammer spring and cutting 3 coils off it etc but that seemed to have more to do with light primer strikes. Can this be a problem with these triggers?