• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Can Brake Kleaner be used to clean firearms ?

rene

I am a automotive tech, and I use frequently use the automotive product called brake kleaner to clean any grease or dirt on a component from a car that its severly dirty. And this thing works !!! I was wondering, does any body has ever cleaned their guns with this product ?

Brake cleaner can certainly be used but make sure its the non-chlorinated version (less aggressive) and spray some test areas first. It has been know to occasionally react with some plastics and finishes.

DHonovich said:
Brake cleaner can certainly be used but make sure its the non-chlorinated version (less aggressive) and spray some test areas first. It has been know to occasionally react with some plastics and finishes.

And about for lubrication ? I read that some people use motor oil 10W30. Its that good ?

There is a lot of debate as to what is the best lubricant. A lot depends on your environment as well (cold vs hot vs dry dusty vs wet) but for me i have really become a big fan of frog lube.

DHonovich said:
There is a lot of debate as to what is the best lubricant. A lot depends on your environment as well (cold vs hot vs dry dusty vs wet) but for me i have really become a big fan of frog lube.

I read your article about that. Where it can be found ?

There are only a few dealers online that I know of. I have been debating becoming a dealer for them but I am up in the air about it.

Simple Green works and is less toxic.

Pump action shotguns are pretty tolerant so motor oil or synthetic oil should work, although in a dusty climate it might pick up more grit. On semi-autos i wouldn`t fool around--I`d just get some break Free CLP.

bubba in c.a. said:
Simple Green works and is less toxic.