• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Collapsible stock of the M590A1

Maven77

Copper BB
Hello. I'm a newbie here. I have a new M590A1 Tactical 12 gauge, 6-shot, 18.5" barrel, with synthetic collapsible stock:

http://www.mossberg.com/product/sho...-special-purpose-590a1-adjustable-stock/53690

Its primary function is for home defense so I added a SureFire tactical light to it:
http://www.surefire.com/dsf-500-590-shotgun-forend.html

I have 3 questions:

1) Most importantly, the action release lever is NOT ergonomic, it is tiny, flat, and is #%&*# hidden on the left side of the receiver. This makes it unaccessible to my thumb or index fingers, unless I lay the gun upside down on a flat surface and under good light. Is there a longer retrofit available in the market or do I have to have a gunsmith fabricate one for me? I can't believe a tactical gun supposedly with mil specs has such tiny button. It is the only -but significant- disappointment of an otherwise VERY nice shutgun. The alternative is to store the shutgun with a shell in the chamber, but the point is that the action release button is unaccessible when holding the gun ready in a normal position.

2) In case I take it out to the range or hike around my property (I live in a rural area and in the forest), I'd like to have the option to add a sling, but the forend has no apparent way to add a swivel for a sling. The pump handle (tactical light) has a hole in it but I am not sure it was made for a swivel, and I am not willing to risk a pump jam with the sling. Any suggestions?