• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Do I need a sling?

I recently got a 590A1 with all Magpul furniture that came with the Magpul Forward Sling Mount and RSA Sling Mount...

(I'm a shotgun/rifle newb...)

So do I need a sling? Should I get a Magpul sling? Like the MS3 Gen2 sling? Should I get a bandolier sling? What about those slings with a single attachment point?

Thanks!

I'm getting ready to put the MS3 on mine when it gets here.

I have a single point now. I like it as long as I'm still hands on with her. If you need to free your hands to grab something. Its a pain. The 590a1 is heavy and it will bang your legs up.

I like he idea of being able to switch back and forth. If I'm heading out into the woods with my hands full, the 2 point is the way to go. Just my opinion. (I'm still a noob myself ;) )

Depends...will you be taking it on treks into the woods...carrying it for any kind of distance...?

Most but not all of my rifles and shotguns have slings...especailly if used for hunting. You can always detach them when not needed.

I'm looking to pick up a 590a1 myself this coming weekend ( Gun Show May 17th-18th )...and I'm getting a sling for that.

Post a picture of your 590a1...

It all depends on you. I don't sling my weapons. Even my rifle at work gets a 6" loop of 550 cord on the buttstock to clip it tot my vest, but no sling. I find them cumbersome and I don't carry on my back.

However, if you have the need for one then get one. If you don't, you will likely find it just gets in the way.