• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Mossberg 500 vs AR for SHTF!

Mack500

.22LR
I'm a New Jersey resident living under very limiting unconstitutional gun laws. As law currently stands, magazine capacity for pistols and rifles is limited to 15 rnds, soon to be 10. Semi auto shotguns are limited to 6. However there are no restrictions on pump action shotguns other than barrel length of 18 inches. So my question is - In a SHTF scenario, would you rather have an AR with 10 round magazines of 5.56 or a Mossberg 500 with 8 round capacity buck and slug, maybe a bandolier and a backpack with another 1-200 rounds or so.

Personally I like the shotty for defense purposes because of the limitation on magazine size. Can be reloaded in between shots. The AR with a larger magazine would really be clutch though. Can you own 25rd mags without using them? If SHTF the last thing I'm worried about is gun laws.

For SHTF.. The AR. I can pack more 5.56X45 than I can 12 gauge. Strictly from a weight perspective.

Personally I like the shotty for defense purposes because of the limitation on magazine size. Can be reloaded in between shots. The AR with a larger magazine would really be clutch though. Can you own 25rd mags without using them? If SHTF the last thing I'm worried about is gun laws.