• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New Chainsaw owner

Hello all, i purchased my Mossberg Chainsaw yesterday. I love it. I am new to the shotgun world and had a question about the ammunition for my new gun. What do you feel is the best ammunition for home defense that I can run through my gun?

Thanks.

Welcome from MO!

So now that you have a SD chainsaw...hehe.

Tell us about the shotgun and maybe post details about your living quarters.

Hi CSLW, and welcome to MO!!! Glad to have you here! :D

chainsawlikewhoa said:
What do you feel is the best ammunition for home defense that I can run through my gun?

Thanks.

Well, theres a ton of debate on this, lots of experience and thought have gone into posts and responses. You can start with the ammunition section here. There is a sticky at thge top of the subforum called Ammunition Performance Evaluations, or something like that. It contains links within the first post of the thread to reviews, pattern tests, and comparissons, sometimes side by sides.

EDIT:

Heres the link I mentioned in the above paragraph;
Ammunition Performance Reviews

I have my opinions and loads I prefer. I like 00 buck, while some keep rifled slugs on hand. I dont ever recommend birdshot unless its a case of it bein all you have, but would also advocate gettin 00 or slugs at your earliest convenience.

There are a number of considerations that go into choosin "the best load" for you... Many, if not most, SD shootings occur within 5 to 7 yards, so its important for you to determine the max range in your home, the longest shot you would encounter, and select a load that performs acceptably. To me, acceptable is every pellet within a fist sized target at my ranges. Its also important that you practice any load you choose at your ranges.