• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Night Sights

tritium front sight worth it?

I keep seeing all this stuff on the internet, and of course I'm pretty curious about it. So my question is about the meprolight tritium front sight replacement for the front ghost ring sight. Would a tritium sight be durable on a shotgun?

Re: tritium front sight worth it?

Supposedly, Tritium sights have about a 7 year life.
However, I have a set on what was my carry gun from when I was a Cop, they have lasted about 15 years so far. The Tritium Sight on my 590 is about 7 years old, still going strong.

Thanks for the info, does anyone know if the meprolight tritium sights have a white outline for daylight shooting?

I don't have a pic of the shotgun sight, but here are the Meprolights on my Kimber.

In sunlight they just look like a white dot, but once I step into the shade they start to glow.

I have a Mepro trtium bead on my 590A1 and it has held up very well. It is also a white dot in daylight just like what Lazy pictured above. I also have tritium sights on my 2002 SA 1911 just like what's on Lazy's Kimber. So those are 9 years old and hold up to the slide moving during the actions cycling on a .45 ACP.

I have trijicons and Glock night sights (Meprolight) on my handguns and wouldn't leave home without them. But on my 500 Persuader I chose the truglo optic that does not glow in the dark but picks up ambiant light in most lighted conditions and 'appears' to glow in daylight or medium to low light. My house interior is not completely dark so I didn't feel I needed them on the 500.
But I highly recommend tritium sights for any firearm that might be used in dark or low light situations. They are very bright at night and well worth the money. And as others have said, will last 10 years and usually longer.