• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Noob To Shotguns... Have a lot of questions

Water Monkey

The man, the myth, the monkey
Supporter
Hey guys. First, great forum you guys got here. I’m a noob when it comes to firearms. Picked myself up a Savage Mark II .22 LR a couple of years ago and now I’m looking to up the power.

Looking for something for home defense and also something I could possibly take hunting (Probably going Turkey hunting this Fall). I’m basically set on getting the Mossy 930 SPX Blackwater. I like the 18.5” barrel as I live in an apartment and it can get tight around corners and as others who have bought this shotgun the price is right and it seems reliability is basically on point. Plus I dig the stock charging handle and less bulky sights.

I’m basically going to upgrade to a Nordic magazine tube extender and a tube clamp right out the gate to have the 8+1 capacity.

Being a noob but I do want to trick out my shotgun a little bit. I’ve been doing a lot of research so I have a bunch of questions:

Shotgun Sling:

Seems to be the easiest option is to get a GG&G front sling attachment and a sling that wraps around the stock of the shotgun. I’ve see a few pics of that set up but I can’t seem to locate that particular sling which wraps around the stock. Any help would be appreciated!

Side Saddle Rail:

I’m probably going to want to get an attachment which can store 6 rounds of ammo on the shotgun. Been looking at side saddle rails and it looks pretty cool.

Do these rails interfere with viewing the sights? Also, I’ve read some installation that interferes with cycling of the rounds. Not sure if the pros out weigh the cons.

Also, what is the easiest to install. I’m not into drilling new holes or grinding down any piece of the shotgun. Not my forte.