• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

P80 Glock issues, or me.

Hey guys. While I waited for my GlockTalk account to be approved, I figured I might as well throw a post out here as well.

So, I am new to handguns, and for my first one, I decided I'd do a project and build one! So, I have what is basically a G17, built on a Polymer80 80% receiver. I completed it with Lonewolf upper and lower kits, a G17 threaded 9mm barrel, and a Brownells stripped Glock slide.

As far as the building process, I think everything went pretty well. Milled out what was required; a few rough edges might have been left, but I think those were worked out after my first few test shots (the slide stuck back for the first few shots, after which it began to function normally). There are only two things that I can think of that didn't go as they should have.

When installing the locking block, it went in very tight, had to use the recommended procedure of prying the sides of the frame slightly to get it in. Even then, I was not able to get it to seat down fully level. You can see that one side is up just noticeably higher than the other.
nAdDlCN.jpg
(You can see the right side of the block, on the left in the photo, is just slightly above the plastic in front of it, whereas the other side is not)

You can also see this looking at it from the muzzle, you can see the slide tipped slightly. But, the slide went on and cycled just fine, so I left it. To remedy this issue, I think I would have to pull the locking block and mill off the offending side bit by bit until it sat down. That's scary to me, but I think I could do it if necessary.
LRSohyQ.jpg