• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Question Of The Month. (June 2017)

ripjack13

Resident Sawdust Maker
Staff member
Administrator
Supporter
"Philanthropist"
Howdy,
This is a monthly series of questions topic for everyone to join in on the discussion. Some of the later questions may have a poll, and some will not. Don't be shy now, go ahead and post an answer and vote in the polls...

Do you know how to defend yourself, without a firearm?

With these radical shitbags attacking innocent people in London, this brings up a great question....

**Rules**
There is no minimum post requirement. :D

No. Not adequately, I confess.

In College [mid 60's] I studied and taught Karate. I still know some moves, strikes, kicks, defense, etc. But I have not practiced it enuff in recent years to claim any residual skill at a useful level. I am embarrassed as I write this.

[I do have a sidearm on me right now.]

I would say no. Not if the attacker is at all trained. Which it seems, many of these jihadis are traveling to places in the Middle East where they may be receiving some rudimentary training.

In the London scenario, my options and choices would probably be much like those of the few who stood to fight. Throw stuff and create obstacles to buy time.

Bring it bitches....

I still train. My buddy in the video (big guy) got his black belt in another system and bought out the place last year. I left my dojo for personal reasons and have been assisting in his karate program while he focuses on Krav Maga.

oh... and I've done full contact karate fighting from 1997 - 2009. After that the injuries piled up and I can no longer compete 100% but I can still train. No weight classes kinda puts a hurting on a short guy like myself.

Raul

edit:

found another vid that shows some classical Okinawan Kara-te stuff and Bogu Kumite (fighting) training.