• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Shotgun newbie

Porkchop500

Copper BB
Not only is this my first post on this forum, but I also recently purchased my first shotgun, the Mossberg 500. As you all know, it is a fantastic piece of equipment and thus far I am very happy with my purchase!

So my main purpose for purchasing a shotgun was to try clay shooting (which is highly addictive as I quickly found out!). But I was also interested in shooting slugs to about 100 yards. My question is this, what's the performance difference between shooting a rifled slug in the stock smooth bore, versus switching to a rifled barrel and a standard slug? I'm not a professional marksman but is there really a difference in one setup versus another an amateur would notice?

Since I'm new to the shotgun world, I hope I have my info correct but feel free to correct my ignorance if I am mistaken. Thanks in advance for all your feedback!

Welcome from MI!!

First shotgun!?!?!?!?! You are in for a fun ride. You've just purchased one the funnest, most versatile, hunting, clay shooting, home defending, pumpkin exploding pieces of equipment available to man.

Welcome to the forum from NY and congrats on your new Mossy. You get a chance post a pic.:)

Welcome and congrats! If I had to have just that one last gun left... it might very well be a 12 gauge shotgun (a Mossy, of course).