• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Target Slug Recommendations?

LAZY EYED SNIPER

Overwatch
Global Moderator
Supporter
"Philanthropist"
OK everyone,

I've got plenty of experience shoot'n bird and buck shot, but my local range only allows slugs. I've got my new 590a1 on the way and need some advice on some good slug ammo for target practice. I liked Brad's review on the Winchester Ranger Low Recoil and I've read some positive posts on the Federal TruBall Low Recoil. Anyone have any experience with Centurion 1 1/8 oz slugs? Any other suggestions?

THANKS!

I think it was Goose doin the reviews on the Centurion, and Oli was makin 200 yard shots with it. So theres somethin to it!!! ;)

I shot the Winchester Super X quite a bit, but I've since found I prefer the couple others.

I just can’t find a reason not to like the centurion. I have heard it called an improved foster. The slug is hollow with a heavy head like a foster but the hitch with these is the wad stays with the slug during flight. Cool how they put them together kind of like a socket fit. I find them very accurate. Inside a hundred yards they haven’t failed me. Inside 50…these things are just brutal. 1400fps so they aren’t what I consider full power but not low recoil either they hit real hard out to 100. If I could find anything at all to complain about maybe they lead foul a little more than others….but I have been shooting a pant load of these and it could be that. 80 bucks for 250, what’s not to like really

Thanks for the feedback oli,