• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Use of reloaded ammo for self protection

I use either a Mossberg 500A or a older Remington 870 to hunt with. I leave the gun loaded in a corner by my headboard. The load is two .620" round balls which is deadly on deer or hogs. Now the question: If I should grab the gun, shoots someone (with the reload deer/hog rounds) who breaks into the house and it kills them. Can the court do anything to me, if the shooting is ruled justified, for using the reloaded rounds I used?

While I only play a lawyer on TV, I don't think a load consisting of two 1/2 slugs would matter to a court assuming both a slug and buckshot are legal in your state. Now if you were using Dragon's Breath or exploding rounds there might be a question or two not to mention you would burn your house down... :D

NO.

I've been a shooter for over 40 years. I've been a cop (now retired), I have been a reloader of shotgun, handgun and rifle.

And I have carried my own reloaded ammunition in several rifles and handguns. Some of it was even carried on duty as a cop, because I opted for carrying non-issued guns, so I had to provide my own ammo.

I made 5.56mm all copper barrier blind ammo that you just couldn't easily purchase.

My J-frame off-duty/backup had my handholds with 170-gr cast LSWCs doing 725-fps.

SO I have absolutely NO hesitation in carrying ammo made by me.

Am I supposed to accept a knife's factory sharpening job, or can I improve on it and make it more effective? Same thing.

with the ammo situation I imagine soon people will be converting shotguns to blunderbuss and defending themselves with a barrel full of drywall screws