• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Fox Knives Pocket Folding Karambit - Model 599 REVIEW

Water Monkey

The man, the myth, the monkey
Supporter
Lost my EDC knife (Leatherman C303) about a couple of months ago (no clue where it went) so I was in the market for another knife.

I was looking for something that had an assist opening like the C303 and initially I wasn't looking to spend more than $60.

I came across a youtube video on a karambit style knife and martial applications. Being a martial artist myself and seeing that the applications were similar to a chizikunbo (aka kubotan) which I’m trained on. My interest became piqued on that type of knife so I began looking into folding karambits. Emerson was the first brand to pop up but with a price tag of $280 I was a bit turned off. Came across the fox knives which used the Emerson’s wave design assisted opening draw feature with a lesser price tag of $130 and my interest became renewed.

I sat on it for about a month debating on if I wanted to double my initial investment in a knife, sat back read reviews and saw excellent feedback. Pulled the trigger. However, what they didn’t state was the wait time…. 4-6 weeks. So patiently I waited.

5 weeks passed and at my door came this beauty:

10250439446_6a429d4154.jpg

First impressions:

Knife appears to be well made. What got my interest was the grip. It was really grippy Teflon texture that secured the knife not only in my hand but also secured it in my pocket extremely well.

The ring was impressive. I was a bit hesitant as I’ve never owned a knife which had a ring which was secured by a finger. I was a bit hesitant to order because of it. Having played with it you get such a more secure grip and retention is extremely high in a stressful violent encounter.

Martial applications: