• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Modifications for roadblocker 500

Givemhell

Copper BB
Hello all I'm new to the shotgun scene. I purchased a roadblocker 500 (which is badass by the way) but I want to make some modifications. I hear you can add a forearm grip if I'm saying that right and a bigger barrel to hold more rounds? Also a rail you can add for optics. I guess what I'm getting at is where can I find these mods? Thank you for your time!

Welcome aboard and congrats on the new 500.

To add a foregrip, you're going to need to install a new forend with a bottom rail. There are several manufacturers out there, so you'll have to use your google-fu to find the forend and price you like. Here's an example of one that many of our members use...

FAB Defense: Mossberg 500 Rail System

Before you purchase a forend, you need to determine if your factory forend is pinned to the action bar, or if it uses an action slide tube assembly held on by a barrel nut. Some of the newer model 500s have pinned forends and you'd end up having to buy and install an action slide tube assembly before you could use an aftermarket forearm.

If the forend is pinned to the action bar, you'll clearly be able to see it...

If yours uses and action slide tube and barrel nut, you'll see this...

If this is the case, then next you'll need to determine the length of your action slide tube. It will be either 6-1/2" or 7-5/8"...

beforeoldstyle.jpg

Not all manufactrurer's aftermarket forends are made to fit both slide tube lengths, so knowing the length of your tube is crucial. There are adapters made for the 6-1/5" forends that will enable them to be installed on 7-5/8 tubes.