• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New and Disappointed Mossberg 500 Owner..

Recently purchased a Mossberg 500 Turkey Thug Shotgun from my local Academy, it was a floor model and on clearance for a very good price.. I'm new to guns so I brought my friend with me and we inspected the gun and made sure it was fully functional before signing on the dotted line.

Fast forward a few days later, haven't even put 1 round through the gun because I wanted to clean the gun thoroughly first..

This is the overly result after cleaning..

First Pass through the barrel..

Second Pass through the barrel..

End Result..

Now fast forward to re-assembly..

Go to put everything back together, cleaned and oiled up.. And it will not cock by 1/3rd of the way back and forth.. HOWEVER if I install everything together WITHOUT the cartridge interrupter (Part # 40 in this diagram) the gun works at it should and cocks back and forth with no issues.

So a few questions are first.. Should a gun be that dirty if it's new? I figured they put a few rounds through it to make sure everything is working properly but after cleaning it, it seems that hundreds of rounds have been fired through it.

And 2nd.. why would cleaning a gun cause the cartridge interrupter to not function properly and bind?

I tried to get Academy to remedy the situation, like replace the gun with a brand new one or exchange it for something else or simply give me my money back and they basically told me there is nothing they could do and couldn't explain why the gun was so dirty if it's never been fired. Any help would be appreciated, I contacted Mossberg and they are sending me both the cartridge interrupter arm and the cartridge stop so we will see what happens. Has anyone else ran into this issue before?

All new Mossberg's ship full of "protectant" grease...so that's normal.