• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Online gunsmith classes?

Larry23433

.270 WIN
I didn't know where to post this so if it's in the wrong section I apologize.

Has anyone here ever done any online schools for gunsmithing? I'm 42 but still have college grant money that I was told I can still use. I've been a welder and machinist for 20 years and learned on the job so never bothered with college. Aparently these gunsmithing schools like Sonoran are technically colleges so I can use those grants for that. I have free time and think it'd be neat to learn new skills but online gunsmithing seems strange lol. Seems like a hands on only skill.

Just curious if anyone has done this and has opinions. Not looking for a career change but if I can learn something new for free-ish I'm into it lol.

I'd give SDI a look. They sponsor a number of guntubers such as Brandon Herrera and Hickok 45. There is a lack of gunsmiths in this area (central FL)--why I don't know. Maybe tough to get insurance?

I'd give SDI a look. They sponsor a number of guntubers such as Brandon Herrera and Hickok 45. There is a lack of gunsmiths in this area (central FL)--why I don't know. Maybe tough to get insurance?

That's who I'm looking at, SDI, my major hang up is it's all online. Maybe I'm just an old fart but I don't know how much they can teach online with such a hands on skill. Even though I won't be paying much if anything I still don't wanna waste my time. Like I said I'm not into it for a career change either way but still not worth my time if it's crap.

You might see if the Colorado School of Trades or the Trinidad State Junior College offer online classes. These both are excellent.

Regards

Are there any gunsmiths in the area? Maybe have a talk with him/her and ask if you could arrange some training for sweeping out the shop or something? :)