• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Tomahawks???

raven01750

.270 WIN
I have been thinking about possibly adding a Tomahawk to my kit. But to be honest, I have no experience with one, wouldn't know a good one to add to my kit or really why? I know some of the guys are carrying them oversea's as part of their loadout but think it's an individual decision. What are your thoughts on adding a Tomahawk to your hunting or Bug-out kit? And if you were to carry one, what features are important and why? Looking forward to any comments.

Paul

I just have a small hatchet that I made a handle out of steel tubing and welded it together. And dipped the handle end in liquid rubber a few times....tactical black rubber that is.... :lol: :lol:
Nothing fancy, but it won't break at least.

Important features in a tomahawk to me, blunt side for braining, and sharp side for gashing/slashing. That is how they were traditionally made.

Why mess with perfection?

If I can't get a blunt side, I would accept a more modern 3 pointed spike on one end that would take forever to heal if you were on the wrong end of it, although would slow you down if you used it because you'd have to pull it back out, unlike a blunt rounded edge which would be deflected while still transferring the bulk of the energy in the area it struck, although still more effective than the spike.

hey, you asked.

A good roofing hammer fits the bill quite nicely

Mine is the kind with a hammer head on one side. In case I had to use it to pound a nail in. God forbid that happen. Lol

Here are a few of my camp axes...even a sharpened shovel. I do like the SOG Vietnam style tomahawk...

SILVERHATCHET-1-1.jpg

HATCHETSHOVEL-1-1.jpg

Nice!
A Sharpened shovel, huh? lol I guess if any of those Pesky Ground Moles or Hogs attack your campsite they best beware :cool: :lol: :lol: haha