• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

wood furniture question??

What is the best way (or is there one) to refinish butt stock and forend wood furniture?

I want to change the color finish on it and was curious if it was like any other wood and I could just go to home depot or something and get a color stain I like to refinish it in, after I sand it down of course. (what sanding grit # is best for this)
I know it may be difficult to get into the design pattern crevas' on it but the surface seems to be good to sand over. Finally do you have to seal it when complete or not.
The furniture on there now seems shiney like some sort of lacquer/sealant.

Any one done this to their wood furniture, or any input?
If so, was the outcome what you expected....

Just want some guidance b4 I mess it up...

Just dive all in.... ;) lol

I have no experience but I would assume it is like any other wood.... Sand it down all nice and what not... slap on some nice finish of choice and then I would put some form of clear-coat or sealant on it personally...

Start with 80 or 100 grit to remove the finish, then move to 120 -> 180 -> 220 or higher till you get the smoothness you want. Clean the surface with mineral spirits and let dry between each grit. There will be some of the original finish that will remain in the pores of the wood to some depth. Don't worry about it.

Generally speaking you can make a wood darker, but not lighter (unless you use paint). Some woods can be bleached, but I wouldn't recommend it on this project.