• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Decisions on a HD shotgun

JSM

Hello everyone!

I had some questions about different Mossberg shotguns that may help me figure out which may be best for me. I've never really shot a gun before and I'm new to guns but in the past few weeks I've been reading up on them and learned some from reading and I have to say I like it and feel like it is something I can get into like going to the range and just shooting and also I like the mod scene going on but as the title says I'm looking for a good home defense shotgun that I may take down to the range and shoot every few months or so also wouldn't mind modding and what it has come down to are these three models. Max price willing to spend is about $400.

The Maverick 88 $212

The Mossberg 500 $323

The Mossberg 590 $382

Here is my personal cons and pros list and since the 590 is mostly the same as a 500 that falls into the same place and yes I am looking into the 20" 7+1 models.

Cons

M88 doesn't have drilled and tapped areas for sights "which gunsmiths can as 20-100 per hole to do" and the safety is still kind of too far for pistol grips, fore grip is one piece

M500 has a bad safety when it comes to pistol grip set ups, fore grip is one piece

Pros

M88 Cheapest, rebuildable by yourself, reliable, 8 shots, cross bolt safety

M500 Tang safety for normal stocks, drilled and tapped holes "I think" 8 shots, reliable, rebuildable by yourself, 2 finger extractor, slide release location

One thing I would like to know for sure is if the 590 forend is pinned like the M88 and M500 because that could be the selling factor on the 590 because by the time I am done getting a new forend tube for the M500 it would cost about as much as a 590 but that is if I decide to change it out and also is the action better?