• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New shotgun!!

12gafun

.270 WIN
I just purchased my first New Mossberg shotgun a 500 Persuader 12 GA 5+1. I am new to Mossberg shotguns can I shoot slugs out of it, I bought some Remington Slugger 2.75 1oz rifled slugs and hoping that I can shoot them out of this. Here is a few pics of it. Also if anyone has any bead sight upgrade options for it and also a side saddle option let me know thanks. I have completely cleaned it after purchase and lube it with CLP I hopefully will get to shoot it today. Thanks for any replies. I did some decorating, colored my engraving in, added a Tacstar side saddle 6 shot shells extra now.

20150816_172842.jpg 20150821_191606.jpg 20150816_172802.jpg

Last edited:
Nice looking 500! I love Mossbergs and never tire of seeing pictures of them. You sure can shoot slugs out of it. If it fits, it shoots. lol I find the recoil of slugs oddly satisfying. If you want to upgrade the bead sight, tritium beads are popular. They are visible at night from your eye, but anyone on the receiving end cannot see the bead. I'm not sure what side saddle to recommend. I don't have one. If you want even more rounds hanging on your gun, a cheapo Allen buttstock shell holder is a good bet. I have one and it has held up well. They're only like $6, give or take.

Congrats on buying the best shotgun in the world...a Mossberg !!

You can shoot 12 gauge Birdshot, Buckshot, and Slugs from your Persuader...