• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

My .308 project

Hey guys I just got my first 100 ATR Saturday (3/14/15) and it's shooting great but as a beginner I still need tons of practice for long range shooting. But I feel like the scope the rifle came with wasn't all that great so I decided to upgrade. Along with other stuff I'm putting into the rifle it would be great to hear some opinions from you guys on my progress and what would be best for me to get/do. Chuy.
uploadfromtaptalk1426492682857.jpg

Thanks to the lazy eye sniper with the advice about the sling mount bipod I've decided to get this one. It had great reviews hope it works out.
uploadfromtaptalk1426492897156.jpeg

Lookin good so far.

Vortex makes some nice glass and that Crossfire II should be plenty of scope to get you out as far as you want to shoot...

What ammo would be good for target shooting? Right now I have a few boxes of the winchester super X power point 150 grain. For $15 a box of 20 rounds I think that's a good deal

That will depend on your rifle.

I believe the 4x4 .308 barrel has a 1:10" twist which is well suited for a variety of bullet weights. The Super X is built for taking down game, not for precision shooting but it will be fine for getting your new scope dialed in on paper. I shoot some of the power point stuff on occasion, but usually only for banging steel gongs at 300-500yd. If you're shooting for precision, for your barrel there's no better factory ammo to start with than Federal's 168 grain Gold Medal Match...

http://www.sgammo.com/product/feder...l-gold-medal-match-168-grain-bthp-ammo-gm308m